Final 6-28-2021

SUGGESTED SUBSTITUTE

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS Board of Licensure of Marriage and Family Therapists

201 KAR 32:030. Fees.

RELATES TO: KRS 335.330, 335.340(1), (3), 335.342

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 335.320(4), 335.330, 335.340(1), (3), 335.348

NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 335.330 requires the board to promulgate an administrative regulation establishing the initial fee for licensure required to be paid by an applicant for licensure and requires an applicant to pass a written examination prescribed by the board. KRS 335.340(1) requires that all licenses issued under KRS 335.330 shall be renewed annually, and that the board promulgate an administrative regulation establishing the fee for licensure renewal. KRS 335.340(3) requires the board to promulgate an administrative regulation establishing the late renewal fee. This administrative regulation establishes fees for licensure as a marriage and family therapist or marriage and family therapist] associate.

Section 1. Initial Application Fee. The initial application fee for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall be:

- (1) Fifty (50) dollars;
- (2) Nonrefundable; and
- (3) Payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

Section 2. Initial Licensure Fee. The initial fee for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall be:

- (1) \$175;
- (2) Nonrefundable; and
- (3) Payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

Section 3. Initial Application. (1) An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall submit a completed Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist Application to the board in accordance with KRS 335.330 and with the fees required under Sections 1 and 2 of this administrative regulation.

- (2) The applicant shall complete six (6) hours of training in the field of suicide assessment, treatment, and management every six (6) years as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(4).
- (3) The applicant shall complete the three (3) hours of training in the field of domestic violence, *elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation* within three (3) years of licensure as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(5).
- (4) The applicant shall document professional experience obtained as a marriage and family therapy[therapist] associate, including 1,000 client hours over a minimum of two (2) years, and verify clinical supervision as required by 201 KAR 32:035.

Section 4. Examination Fee. (1) An applicant shall pass the National Marital and Family Therapy Examination administered and verified by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards.

- (2) The applicant shall pay the required examination fee.
- Section 5. Renewal Fee. (1) A licensed marriage and family therapist shall submit a complet-

ed Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist Renewal Application to the board in accordance with KRS 335.340.

- (2) The fee for renewal of licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall be:
- (a) \$150 annually;
- (b) Nonrefundable; and
- (c) Payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.
- (3) The licensee shall complete six (6) hours of training in the field of suicide assessment, treatment, and management every six (6) years as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(4).
- (4) The licensee shall complete the three (3) hours of training in the field of domestic violence, *elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation* within three (3) years of licensure as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(5).
- (5) The licensee shall submit proof of completion of the continuing education requirements under 201 KAR 32:060.

Section 6. Late Renewal Fees. (1) A licensee who renews a license during the ninety (90) day grace period provided by KRS 335.340(3) shall pay a late renewal fee of seventy-five (75) dollars in addition to the payment of the renewal fee as established in Section 5 of this administrative regulation.

- (2) The fee shall be:
- (a) Nonrefundable; and
- (b) Payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

Section 7. Administrative Fine. A licensee who fails to meet the continuing education unit requirements as set forth in 201 KAR 32:060, by the renewal date, shall pay an additional administrative fine of seventy-five (75) dollars.

Section 8. Reinstatement of Expired License. (1) In accordance with KRS 335.340, an expired license shall be reinstated by:

- (a) Submitting a completed Application for License Reactivation;
- (b) Paying of the renewal fee as established in Section 5 of this administrative regulation for each year since the date of last active licensure;
 - (c) Paying of a reinstatement fee of \$100, which shall be:
 - 1. Nonrefundable; and
 - 2. Payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer; and
 - (d) Meeting all other requirements of this section of this administrative regulation.
 - (2) The applicant for reinstatement of an expired license shall submit proof of:
- (a) Completion of fifteen (15) hours of continuing education for each year since the date of last active licensure as required by 201 KAR 32:060;
- (b) Completion of six (6) hours of training in the field of suicide assessment, treatment and management every six (6) years as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(4); and
- (c) Completion of three (3) hours of training in the field of domestic violence, <u>elder abuse</u>, <u>neglect</u>, <u>and exploitation</u> within three (3) years of licensure as required by 201 KAR 32:060, Section 1(5).

Section 9. Fees for Providers of Continuing Education. (1) There shall be a nonrefundable fee of \$100[fifty (50) dollars] for a single continuing education workshop offered an unlimited number of times in a calendar year, January 1 to December 31. The provider shall submit the Continuing Education Program Provider Approval Application at least sixty (60) days in advance of the commencement of the program and with the applicable fee required under this subsection[per day for six (6) continuing education workshops or less offered a single time].

(2) There shall be a nonrefundable fee of \$300 for a provider designated as an approved

sponsor for continuing education and that is providing more than one (1) continuing education program for two (2) consecutive calendar years, January 1 to December 31. The provider shall submit the Application for Continuing Education Sponsor at least sixty (60) days in advance of the commencement of the program and with the applicable fee required under this subsection [\$125 per day for seven (7) or more continuing education workshops offered a single time].

- (3) [There shall be a nonrefundable fee of \$250 for a single continuing education workshop offered unlimited times in a calendar year, January 1 to December 31.
- (4) The provider shall submit the Continuing Education Program Provider Approval Application with the applicable fee required under subsections (1) through (3) of this section.
- (5)] The marriage and family therapist, and the marriage and family therapy[therapist] associate shall submit the Application for Continuing Education Program Approval Individual for post approval only.

Section 10. Incorporation by Reference. (1) The following material is incorporated by reference:

- (a) "Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist Application", July 2016;
- (b) "Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist Renewal Application", July 2016;
- (c) "Application for License Reactivation", July 2016;
- (d) "Continuing Education Program Provider Approval Application", <u>July 2021[September 2016]</u>; [and]
 - (e) "Application for Continuing Education Program Approval Individual", 2016; and
 - (f) "Application for Continuing Education Sponsor", May[January] 2021.
- (2) This material may be inspected, copied, or obtained, subject to applicable copyright law, at the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Marriage and Family Therapists, <u>500 Mero Street</u>, <u>2SC 32[911 Leawood Drive]</u>, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

CONTACT PERSON: Kevin R. Winstead, Commissioner, Department of Professional Licensing, Kentucky Public Protection Cabinet, 500 Mero Street, 237CW, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, phone 502-782-0562, fax 502-564-4818, KevinR.Winstead@ky.gov.

At the time that it files this staff suggested amendment the agency will need to file <u>one</u> (1) clean copy of the updated "Continuing Education Program Provider Approval Application" that:

- Updates the Edition Date to July 2021
- Updates the cross-reference to the section of the applicable administrative regulation.
- Updates the old fee amount of \$50 to \$100 and the description of what the fee covers.
- Updates the old fee amount of \$125 to \$300 and the description of what the fee covers.
- Deletes the reference to the old fee amount of \$250 and what the fee covered.
- Changes "should" to "shall" in the description of a filing requirement.